Jacqueline Goldstein and Logan Jones Share 2018/19 Stebbins Award

Congratulations, Jacqueline and Logan, on winning the 2018/19 Stebbins Award for work on “The Tayler Instability in the Anelastic Aproximation” and "z~2.5-3 Ionizers in the GOODS-N Field", respectively.

Dec.18.2018 | Continue Reading »

Diego Gonzales Casanova Gallegos Wins 2018/19 Whiteford Award

Congratulations, Diego, on winning the 2018/19 Whitford Award for work on novel techniques to map interstellar magnetic fields.

Dec.17.2018 | Continue Reading »

Happy Anniversary, OAO-2

Today, December 7, 2018, is the 50th anniversary of the launch of the Orbiting Astronomical Observatory-2. Read the story on UW News with quotes from original team members, reflection on the importance of OAO-2, and Wisconsin's role in changing space astronomy. And join us tonight at UW Space Place for the celebration.

Dec.07.2018 | Continue Reading »

The Fall 2018 Washburn Observer

Read our latest newsletter, with exciting science, updates on department news, stories about the impact your gift makes, and much more.

Nov.28.2018 | Continue Reading »

Celebrate With Us!

Join us at Space Place on December 7, 2018 to celebrate the 50th launch anniversary of the Orbiting Astronomical Observatory-2, the first successful space observatory in the modern sense, which paved the way for the Hubble Space Telescope.

Nov.23.2018 | Continue Reading »

UW-Madison Astronomy Home